3 Things You Can Do to Protect Your Workers Compensation Claim
Organizations like OSHA have undoubtedly made the workplace a safer and healthier environment for Missouri workers. However, workplace injuries continue to threaten workers both young and old. Despite the fact that there are Missouri laws set in place to support and help workers who have been injured on the job, thousands of workers each year are denied benefits or only receive a fraction of what they are entitled to.
If you or a loved one have been injured on the job, you should be receiving ALL of the benefits you are entitled to. Here are 3 things you can do right from the start to protect your right to compensation.
Report Your InjuryThe first thing you should do if you have been injured on the job is to report your injury to your employer or supervisor. In Missouri you have 30 days to report a sudden injury or 30 days to report a repetitive use injury once you learn your job has caused it. -- See also: STEP ONE: Document Everything
Seek Medical AttentionEven if your injury seems minor, it is important to seek medical attention. This is your legal right. If the injury is an emergency, permission is not necessary to receive treatment.
Speak With a Workers Compensation AttorneyIt is very likely that from the moment you begin seeking compensation you will be up against a billion dollar insurance company seeking to minimize or deny your claim. To gain more than even footing, it is important to speak with a Missouri workers compensation attorney who understands how to protect your legal right to compensation.
The Law Office of James M. Hoffmann has a strong history of helping injured Missouri workers get the financial compensation and medical attention that they need following a work injury. Please call us today to schedule a free consultation - (314) 361-4300.
Legal Articles Additional Disclaimer